Tourism in SA and NT

Australia has a population of approximately 23 million, and is comprised of six states—New South Wales (NSW), Queensland (QLD), South Australia (SA), Tasmania (TAS), Victoria (VIC) and Western Australia (WA)—and two mainland territories—the Australian Capital Territory (ACT) and the Northern Territory (NT).

Although most of Australia is semi-arid or desert, it also includes a diverse range of habitats from alpine heaths to tropical rainforests and the Great Barrier Reef, and is recognised as having a significant diversity of flora and fauna.

For Austrians wanting to find information concerning entry and residence regulations for Australia please contact the Australian Embassy in Vienna.
Mattiellistraße 2, A-1040 Vienna
Tel: +43 (0) 506 74, Telefax: +43 (0)1 513 1656
Email: or



South Australia is a state in the southern central part of Australia and is bordered by all other states of Australia (Western Australia, the Northern Territory, Queensland, New South Wales, and Victoria), apart from Tasmania and the Australian Capital Territory. On the southern border of South Australia, Kangaroo Island resides in the Southern Ocean. The state’s capital is Adelaide.

South Australia boasts a diverse range of attractions for visitors to enjoy, including wine regions, the ancient Flinders Rangers and outback, vast coastlines, the mighty Murray River and Adelaide Hills surrounds

Yelp app is a free smart phone app for Adelaide that helps you find the location of convenient amenities, such as a restaurant, pub, hotel or petrol station. Includes reviews, distances and prices.
South Australia is a government website offering information about accommodation, attractions and regions in the South Australia and up coming events

Lonely Planet offers trusted, independent travel advice to South Australia.

For further information, visit a South Australian information centre in the city:

Adelaide Visitor Information Centre
9 James Place, Adelaide
(Off Rundle Mall near the Myer Centre)
Phone (within Australia): 1300 588 140
Opening hours:
Monday to Friday 9am-5pm
Saturday and Sunday 10am-4pm
Public Holidays 11am-3pm
Christmas and Good Friday closed



The Northern Territory is in the centre and central northern regions of Australia. It shares borders with Western Australia to the west, South Australia to the south, and Queensland to the east. The capital, Darwin, is Australia’s only tropical capital. The Northern Territory is known for its great, red outback, glorious Uluru in central Australia, beautiful and remote waterfalls and lagoons, and as a unique opportunity to discover, explore and interact with Australian Indigenous culture. It is believed that the Top End is home to one of the world’s most impressive rock art galleries as the area was settled by indigenous Aborigines more than 50,000 years ago.

For further tourist information, visit a Northern Territory information centre in Darwin:

Tourism Top End
6 Bennett St, Darwin NT
Phone (within Australia): 1300 138 886
Opening hours:
Monday to Friday 8:30am-5pm
Saturday and Sunday 9am-3pm


Lonely Planet offers trusted, independent travel advice the Northern Territory.
Australia’s Northern Territory has general information on living, working, business and tourism in the Northern Territory.

Australia’s Outback (NT) is a website with plenty of information about accommodation, attractions in the Northern Territory and travel tips.

For further tips on travel planning in Australia:
If you want to come to Australia as a tourist you can find help planning your travel arrangements on the website Australian-Info.

Stayz is also a great website and smart phone app that allows you to search and book accommodation around Australia.
Appy travels is a free smart phone travel app that allows you to explore and plan your Australian holiday.